FT to hold photography auction in aid of Oxfam’s Samoan Tsunami Appeal

28/02/2010 18:50

LONDON- The photography auction will be held at The Financial Times, 1 Southwark Bridge. Tuesday 9th March, 7pm onwards.

On September 29, 2009, an earthquake of 8.3 magnitude triggered a tsunami in Samoa, America Samoa and Tonga. The tsunami devastated villages along the southern cost of Samoa, killing 140 people, and displacing thousands of others. Oxfam have already responded in the immediate aftermath, providing safe water, sanitation and food to the villagers affected. They also plan to work in the longer term, providing psycho-social counseling to help individuals cope with their personal trauma, while helping families to rebuild sustainable livelihoods.

The auction features photography from top fine art photographers and photojournalists, including some limited edition signed works, featuring well known personalities and political themes. The photography will be sold by Sotheby’s auctioneer Adrian Biddell.

This fantastic evening will also include performances from London based ‘Beats of Polynesia’ and Special Guests on the night will include members of the Samoan rugby team. There will also be a raffle with some great prizes up for grabs.

Annabel Cook, a freelance picture editor at The Financial Times has organised this fundraiser. She has was motivated by her undiscovered Polynesian background and the kindness of the Samoans she met on her travels to explore her past:

“I was adopted as a baby and all I knew about my birth father was that he was Samoan. I grew up fascinated by my Polynesian roots and during my gap year, traveled there. In 2008 I returned to spend a month on a photographic adventure within a Samoan community”

“I finally met members of my family though you can imagine I was a little shocked to find out I was actually half Fijian and not Samoan after all!”

“When I heard of the devastation the tsunami had caused I was very sad. A good friend's family had lost 11 members. I decided that I had to do something to help all the people of Samoa who were suffering.”

All of the money raised on the night will go towards Oxfam New Zealand’s Samoan Tsunami Appeal (AK.502175).

--

For more information about the event please contact Annabel Cook on   07791 798742 or e-mail print.auction@ft.com

For more information about the Samoan tsunami please visit: www.oxfam.org.nz/emergencies or contact Janna.hamilton@oxfam.org.nz